Homemade Protein Balls – Coconut

As promised here is my extremely complicated recipe for homemade protein balls! I am always bewildered at people who imply eating healthily is difficult and time consuming….these 4 ingredient balls were prepared in less than 10 min and that included a minute of me stomping my feet after cutting my finger on my food processor blade (ouch), answering my phone and putting my 2-year-old to bed. So here we go.

Ingredients: 1 cup cashews, 1 cup medjool dates (approx 13 fresh dates), 1 cup coconut (desiccated or shredded), 2 teaspoons coconut oil IMG_5244

Step 1: Place nuts and coconut into food processor until fine.

Step 2: Add dates and coconut oil. Process until form into a smooth dough (this may take some time as the nut oils do take time to release)IMG_5246

Step 3: Roll into 12 balls and store in an air tight container in freezer for up to 1 month or fridge for 2 weeks.

IMG_5247

I enjoy these balls with my coconut water after a gym session, or after dinner with a hot cup of vanilla rooibos tea. Usually 1 is enough but if I am running late in the morning I grab 2 and they keep me going for hours! Give them a try and let me know what you think!

 

19 responses to “Homemade Protein Balls – Coconut

  1. Sounds delish but even these would be a no no on the heart diet [nuts, coconut, and coconut oil] that we’ve been given.

  2. These are delicious! Will definitely be making them again.. And again!

  3. Coconut is the best! I eat coconut cream (butter) by itself, 1/4-1/2 tsp a couple of times a day and my skin is like new (I’m 57).

  4. Reblogged this on Complete Physique Blog and commented:
    Don’t these just look amazing….

  5. Nice, simple recipe 🙂
    I’ve never used cashews, I always use walnuts instead but with this same recipe.
    Thanks for sharing 🙂

  6. I am excited to try these! I always used to make these balls with oatmeal until I couldn’t eat it anymore…and I was never able to find a satisfactory replacement.

  7. Yum I love stuff like these! Especially with cocoa powder blended in as well and some desiccated coconut rolled on the top. Haven’t tried with cashews before, only walnuts and almonds. I’ll have to give it a go! I’m thinking peanuts too for a peanut butter chocolate version 🙂 yuum

    • Yum!! I love anything peanut butter have not had it in 2 years. I saw a peanut butter smoothie the other day and wanted it so badly but just my breath could set my poor baby off! I love rolling them in coconut too or dipping in melted dark chocolate to make them a little indulgent!

  8. Sound amazing no idea where I would get fresh dates locally though-food desert round here

  9. Thank you-got loads of those-just need to work our sugar content of recipe as OH is pre type 2 diabetic

  10. These sound just like the raw ones they sell at whole foods.

Leave a Reply

