Paleo Coconut & Banana Bread

Banana & Coconut Bread

Banana & Coconut Bread

I have always found cooking with Coconut flour difficult (my ancient oven could be part of the problem). My excitement for baked goods quickly fades as I cut into a dry and crumbly mess. However, I think after much experimentation I have one that not only smells delicious but has great texture!

I adapted my recipe from http://wheatfreeandglutenfreebreadrecipe.blogspot.com.au/ Paleo Coconut & Walnut Bread.

My recipe is as follows:

Ingredients

1 cups of organic coconut flour

1 tsp gluten free baking powder

0.5 cup shredded organic coconut

0.5 cup local raw honey

1 cup organic or homemade coconut milk (full fat)

3 free-range eggs

0.5 cup of coconut oil

3 mashed bananas (small-med)

Directions

1. In one bowl blend wet ingredients until smooth

2. In another bowl mix dry ingredients.

3. Add dry ingredients to wet slowly ensure the mixture is well blended

4. Pour into baking paper lined loaf tin and cook for 50-60min @ 180 degrees (C)

5. Ensure when baking with coconut flour that you allow to cool completely in tin before cutting.

Enjoy with reduced strawberry syrup (mush up and slowly cook strawberries with a little stevia or honey if you wish. I like them just as they are).

 

8 responses to “Paleo Coconut & Banana Bread

  1. Splendid! What a marvelous looking bake! =D

  2. Yum! This looks delicious. I’m going to try this.

  3. I actually made a recipe similar to this yesterday for pancakes but it wasn’t working out so well in my little stainless steel frying pan, so I turned the batter into muffins, worked mush better šŸ™‚

    One great thing I discovered is that coconut shreds put in a blender to break them down more is the same as coconut flour, just not as thin, but works great!

  4. This bread sounds delicious. Members of our family are now eating gluten-free so this recipe could work well off us.

Leave a Reply

