“I Just Don’t Have Time”

I am sure we have all said it before, “I just don’t have time”. The issue with this is that it’s a phrase we use when the truth is “I can’t be bothered”. Before I moved back to Rockhampton in 2011, I said this all the time in regards to what I ate, how often I exercised and what social activities I committed myself too. But the reality was there were people that worked just as much as I did, juggled a family like I did, studied like I did and still managed to look after themselves and have a great social life. Now I hear others say it and wish I could show them just how easy a healthy lifestyle is to follow and how it also makes everything else going on easier to manage.

For those of you that don’t know me personally, I am a mother, a DIDO wife (my husband works away for 4 weeks at a time and is then home for 1 week. At the moment this has been extended to 9 weeks away, 1 week home), I work part-time, I am at University part-time, I run the blog and am trying to start a local business. It is clear that I am time poor, often very stressed and always exhausted!! I made a commitment to myself to ensure that I was the best version of me for myself, my husband and my children and this is what I work towards everyday.

That being said fitting in exercise and preparing all my meals from scratch does take some effort, but not as much as you think. Here is how I make it work. Have a read, take from this what you think could help you and comment with any suggestions you have that could help me or others!

1. Plan your week. I plan my week in half-hour increments from 5am – 11pm on my iphone. The app I use is called Schedule Planner and it basically is my diary/scheduler that I always have handy . It is great and really helps you see where you are wasting precious time.

2. Schedule exercise. Think about what time of the day suits you best. Before work, after work, lunch break or when you have supervision for your children. I use the crèche at my gym from 9-30am-10.30am or jump on the treadmill at home after putting the kids to bed. However I am really a morning person and if my husband was home I would be at the gym at 6am so it was over and done with. Book your sessions and block out your calendar. I guarantee no matter how much you don’t want to go, you will always feel better afterwards!

3. Think differently about food. Creating exotic recipes and experimenting with new ingredients, is great, but it is not necessary. The first thing I ask anyone when they ask me about healthy eating is “What is your favourite home cooked meal?”- Roast and lasagne are common responses. Why do people think these meals are so time consuming? They really are not and they are nutritious & so delicious!

I usually put my roast (lamb, chicken or beef) in a slow-cooker at breakfast. Recipe – dump in a load of vegies, add a dollop of coconut oil or grass-fed ghee, and some stock (I use my own stock) put meat on top and turn to low for 8 hours. Easy? Yes and you have meat for lunch the next few days if you buy a large cut. Here is a delicious roast lamb rack with balsamic vegetables that I made this week in the slow cooker – delicious.

Roast Lamb Rack with Balsamic Vegetables

There are many healthy recipes for Lasagne (as I don’t eat grains/dairy I use eggplant for the sheets and skip the white sauce) so find a recipe that suits you! Then on a Sunday or when you have a couple of hours make a double batch and then wrap and freeze! Easy? Yes! When ready to use pull out and reheat in oven.

Other easy options are steak and salad, fish and steamed veg or bacon, eggs & banana fried up in coconut oil (my favourite lazy meal).

4. Have fun! Life can sometimes seem overwhelming and frankly not very enjoyable. It is important to socialize and live your life doing things you enjoy! So take up that invite for dinner – you need to eat anyway! Laugh, play and do the things you enjoy!

So there are a few tips to help you to adopt a healthy lifestyle. When you do, you will be helping your body, your mind and your relationships as you will be mentally and physically able to give your best in all areas of your life.

 

7 responses to ““I Just Don’t Have Time”

  1. Love this post! It’s so easy to make excuses, but people don’t realize how easy it can be with jus a little planning. Thanks for posting!

  2. Couldn’t agree more! Little things like meals can enrich your life and tick off multiple things on your to-do list. This morning I made the most of my time with the kids and had them in the kitchen making boiled eggs and tiger toast for breakfast (whilst preparing the makings for egg and mayo sandwiches tomorrow) and they loved being in the kitchen with me!! (An added bonus was they ate the whole lot!!! Score!). The best thing about being around someone who embraces these philosophies is that their zest for life and their motivation is infectious. I know my approach to life has changed for the better since surrounding myself with positive like-minded people!! Speaking of which my Paleo Brownies are ready! Afternoon tea anyone?!

  3. great post…all very true! 🙂

  4. Great post! And so true! I catch myself using those same excuses everyday and since… well… always? And the worst thing is, that you’re just being even more unfair to your body and mind if you don’t get your exercise. Or do your own cooking from scratch. Or start and grow your own vegetables (yep, rather proud first-time gardener here). Sure, we all have little time, lots of stress, screaming and fussing kids, but honestly… what do we want to invest our time in? Aren’t we the ones who decide what we do with it?

    • Spot on!!! We are responsible for our choices and I hope that mine ensure my kids grow up healthy, knowing how and wanting to take care of themselves. Thank you for reading my blog and taking the time to comment!

Leave a Reply

