Bacon, Banana & Maple Muffins (with Chocolate Chips)

My mouth is watering just blogging about these delicious muffins! I had saved a recipe by The Café Wellness that included the incredible combo of bacon, banana & chocolate and I really wanted to try them. Then last night as I was scrolling through Facebook I came across a question “What is your favourite flavour combo?” I quickly added my 5 cents worth replying “Bacon, Banana & Maple Syrup”. And after collecting my monthly supply of Nitrate-Free, Free-Range Bacon from Dawson Valley Free Range yesterday how could I not make a batch of my own. I planned to use maple syrup instead of honey and leave out the chocolate chips as I thought they would make the muffins too sweet!

Ingredients

2/3 Cup Coconut Flour

1/4 Cup Tapioca Flour

1 Teaspoon baking soda

Pinch of Himalayan Rock Salt

1 Teaspoon Cinnamon

1/4 Cup Coconut oil

3 Organic Eggs

1 Teaspoon Organic Vanilla Essence

1/2 cup Almond Milk

1/4 Cup Maple Syrup

5 Short Cut Nitrate Free bacon rashes

2 Ripe Bananas Mashed

Directions

1. Heat oven to 180 degree (c). Line a muffin tray with papers.

2. Dice bacon into bite size pieces and cook over medium heat until cooked half-way through stirring regularly.

3. Mash bananas in a small bowl and put aside.

4. Add dry ingredients to a large mixing bowl.

5. Whisk eggs in a small bowl and put aside.

6. When bacon is cooked add all wet ingredients to dry ingredients and mix with a metal spoon until well combined.

7. At this point my 5 year old injected her opinion “these look really good mum, but they would be even better with some chocolate chips in them”. So in went 1/2 cup of chocolate chips. Next time I would add half a cup of toasted walnuts at this stage. Fold in gently.

8. Divide between 12 muffin cases and bake for 18-20 min or until slightly golden. Leave to cool for 5 minutes in tin and then eat while still warm. AMAZING. They freeze and would be great for breakfast with nuts instead of the choc chips… Enjoy!

20131007-132449.jpg

9 responses to “Bacon, Banana & Maple Muffins (with Chocolate Chips)

  1. Bacon and Banana muffins! Thanks for this post.

  2. Yum!! I definitely have to try this. I just had chocolate covered bacon for the first time and loved it but this brings it to a whole new level!

  3. OH! I can’t wait to make these! They look and sound fantastic!

  4. Not sure about the chocolate and maple syrup, but it reminds me of a toasted sandwich I used to eat years ago. It was from a coffee shop in Ayr Qld. Bacon and banana with cheese melted over the top! It was delicious and I think I’ll have to try it with Dawson valley free range bacon! Thanks for the post!

    • Yummm the sandwich sounds delicious…sometimes i really miss bread!! I love coconut pancakes with bacon and banana too. This morning I’m having the last of my bacon with eggs,sweet potato/onion hash & spinach. I am going to enjoy it even more as I am still in bed and my husband is cooking it!

  5. Oh my! As much as I love bacon I still don’t know how I feel about it being in my sweet treat lol, but I’ll come around to it one day:)

Leave a Reply

